Showing posts with label ecole francaise de extreme orient. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ecole francaise de extreme orient. Show all posts

Monday, October 22, 2018

Study of Temples turned into Fort reveals past...... N.Nandhivarman


MYTHOLOGICAL SCULPTURE IS SCIENCE FICTION OF THOSE DAYS

Temples in Tamilnadu were turned into forts and the fortification of such temples were found in water colour paintings of French Engineers in archives at Hague and Paris. Having found such maps of temples which were used as Forts, though no vestiges of military structures are found around their enclosures now, since most of them were dismantled by the British at the beginning of the nineteenth century, Jean De Loche, octogenarian scholar who lives in Pondicherry for more than 52 years and had number of books to his credit, had written a book Ancient Fortifications of the Tamil Country as recorded in Eighteenth Century French Plans..

Temples of South India are unique in the world for their sculptural art. Temples were not only home of the deities, they were centres of learning, socializing and schools of art, music and philosophy, in short a place everyone can gain knowledge in every field. 


In a  book titled  “Mysteries of the Dravidian Sculptural Art depicting the Hindu version of the Supreme, the birth, growth and death of the Sun, Stars, the human and standard of living “ its author P.S.Subramanyam , Palace Architect of Mysore hailing from Thanjavur says “ Our mythological sculpture is rooted in deep scientific thought  and mastery of the sublime cosmic truths. Cosmology, Cosmogony, Biology, the Stellar Universe, all about Earth and the Heavens , inter relation between man and planets, and stars, the place of man in divine scheme of things, his duties and aims in his voyage through existence , these and other kindred topics form the subject of our mythological sculptures.”

 We forget to undergo comparative study of our mythology and that of other civilizations and if we do, we can understand everywhere mankind is one in its quest to understand our living on earth and its meaning. Sculptures of our Temple failed to attract us because we forgot it was a planetarium of those days. The Death of the Sun and Stars depicted in our sculptures is proven by NASA findings now. Devotion to deity which offers solace to us and total neglect of other sculptures, stone carvings, inscriptions etc led to idol thefts which are hitting headlines nowadays. Temples were demolished when early invaders came into India.

During the rule of Muslim emperors (1310-1311) Srirangam was captured and the riches plundered .They took off the statue of Alagiyamanavalar Perumal. The statue of Alagiyamanavalar Perumal was sent to Delhi. In Delhi the daughter of the Sultan persuaded the Sultan to return the statue of Alagiyamanavalar Perumal back to Guru Ramanujar. She possesses a separate temple near Srirenganathar temple and people worship her as "Thulukka Nachiyar". This mythology is proof of stolen artefacts returned to original places of worship.  There is also a legend “ that the temple of Srirangam which was plundered by Muslim invaders of the 14 th century [ Malik Kafur in 1310-1311 and Ulugh Khan in 1323 ] and recaptured by Hindu Prince Kumara Kampanna in 1371 had its enclosures fortified after this Hindu restoration to prevent a new invasion “writes R.Orme in his History of the Military Transactions of the British Nation in Indostan.  

The Srirangam temple is enclosed by 7 concentric walls (termed prakarams (outer courtyard) or mathil suvar) with a total length of 32,592 feet or over six miles. These temple has 21 gopurams (towers), 39 pavilions, fifty shrines, Ayiram kaal mandapam (a hall of 1000 pillars) and several small water bodies inside. The space within the outer two prakarams (outer courtyard) is occupied by several shops, restaurants and flower stalls. Non-Hindus are allowed up to the second outer courtyard) but not inside the gold topped sanctum sanctorum.
Speaking about the temple enclosures Jean Deloche writes “ The temple enclosures were not meant to be defence works as specifically mentioned in technical treatises of Indian Architecture such as the Ajitagama and the Mayamata which note enclosure walls but do not bring the idea that they could be considered military structures to the fore. The outward wall is called mahamaryadabhitti wall of the great sacred boundary., the pyramidal tower over the entrance gate to the precinct of the temple is known as the gopura i.e protector, a word which might evoke a defence function but purely has symbolic value said P.S.Filliozat.”


“ The second half of the 18th century , however the armies of the Muslim rulers and the British companies used these walls as fortifications, in spite of protests by the temple authorities.  The desecration of these temples is specifically mentioned in English and French sources which show the looting soldiers had become the objects of horror to the local population. When the temple for Achalpuram surrendered to the British in 1749 they forced an entry to the sanctuary  and the Hindus of Thanjavur army enraged at the pollution to which their shrine was exposed, attacked the English in the temple.”



“ At Kovipapakudi in April 1755 when the British seized the temple the soldiers were permitted to plunder and nothing as usual escaped them., for findings in the temple of the pagoda a great number of brazen images, worshipped by the people of the country,they tore them down from their pedestals, hoping to sell them at least for the metal weight be worth” wrote R.Orme in the History of Military Transactions of the British Nation in Indostan. Similar protest welcomed the French when they entered Chidambaram in 1750.

 In Srirangam however in 1751 when the English troops as well as those of the Nawab entered the temple they did not enter the sanctum sanctorum  . Rajputs in Chanda Sahib’s army and Hindu allies of the Europeans would not have permitted such sacrilegious act .  During Karnatic Wars both French and British kept their troops within the temples.  During Karnatic Wars temples were commonly used as forts.

Jean Deloche in his book mentions Kanchipuram,Vandavasi, Sethupattu, Karunguli, Tiruvannamalai, Arakantanallur, Valudavur Tirukoilur, Sankarapuram, Kallakurichi, Thiyaga Durgam, Elavasanoor Kottai, Ulagiyanallur, Chidambaram, Devikotta, Tirumalpatti, Mettupatti, Srirangam, Thanjavur and Madurai temples which were made into forts.  The first prakara was fortified for shielding the people from the attack of the enemy. There was also space to walk over the wall for defence purposes. 1,2,3 rd prakaras were used for defence purposes he says.

Forts and Temple Fortification after gun powder was introduced in battles had undergone changes. These modifications have come to light with books of Jean Deloche. But people who live in these places don’t have an inkling of what had happened to their temples. British had demolished these fortifications , but after so much plunder, modifications, the focus of Tamilnadu Government should be to form a team of epigraphists to study the stone inscriptions in temple walls. During periodical renovations , ignorant about epigraphy , masons have misplaced many in the wall. By cementing to join them, the last lines were covered. They should be re-arranged in original chronological order to bring to light past history hidden, distorted and buried beneath cement. Also all the surrounding walls of temples be freed of encroachments and while kumbabishegams performed , the inscriptions in those walls not be painted, but must be restored to its original format.


In our pious nature we were used to fix or eyes on the prime deities, present generation does not even know the mythology. We must dig in  our mythological past and mythological art to trace current proven scientific facts, such as the predicted death of sun forecast now even by scientists is chiselled in our sculptures...and scriptures...



Wednesday, October 17, 2018

TAMILNADU NEGLECTS WRITING HISTORY THROUGH THE EYES OF EPIGRAPHY




HISTORY THROUGH THE EYES OF EPIGRAPHY

N.Nandhivarman

In Paris not in Chennai  two conferences on Tamil Epigraphy :Historical Sources and multi-disciplinary approach took place in 2005 and 2006 at Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudies [EPHE] .  The groundbreaking works of several generations of pioneering scholars on Tamil epigraphy have proved beyond doubt that inscriptions constitute one of the most important sources for a better understanding of the historical, cultural and social evolution of the past, opines historian Romila Thapar.

Daud Ali focused his research paper on Gangaikondacholapuram temple inscriptions. This temple was first visited by Meckenzie  between 1818 and 1826. Subsequent surveys till 1993 yielded an epigraphic corpus, which was updated by Daud Ali.

 Philology is a study of the language together with its literature and the historical and cultural contexts which are indispensable for an understanding of the literally or other culturally significant texts defines Becker. Y.Subburayalu employed philology and lexical semantics in interpreting and understanding the epigraphic texts. There is an ancient Tamil word Pazhanam which means fields. The name Pazhani came to that temple town because it was situated in midst of fields. Unless one knows the word Pazhanam the correct meaning could not be imparted.

Rachel Loiseau turned her eyes to the abandoned Naganatheswara temple  of the tenth century. Supplementing  epigraphic sources with structural and iconographic observations, her study the first of its kind in stylistic evolution of a single monument. Rachel Loiseau finds out that the iconographic programmes of this Chola temple bear the influence of Sembiyan Madevi model.

Ten pottery inscriptions of Tamilnadu and two such from West Bengal in Sinhala-Prakrit script found by Iravatham Mahadevan sheds new light on long distance trade routes between Srilanka, Tamilnadu and West Bengal.

Anthropologic decoding of epigraphy of two inscriptions   of Rajaraja from Thanjavur temple undertaken by Tiziana Leucci which focuses on socio-religious aspects of Devadasi system  is noteworthy.

Charlotte de Percin-Sermet chose to deal with Chandesa, one of the important Nayanars of the Bhakthi movement. She finds pan-indian nature in the Tamil saiva nayanar. “ She establishes Chandesa’s presence as a violent deity or asura  in ancient sources like Mahabharatha or Agnipurana. She contrasts how Tamil literary sources depict a contrary image of the nayanar as an ideal devotee” says Appasamy Murugaiyan in his introduction to the book New Dimensions in Tamil Epigraphy . Because he teaches epigraphy in Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudies [EPHE]  Paris , he and his friends organized two  conferences on Tamil epigraphy.

 Foreign country evincing interest in Tamil epigraphy is because recent Survey on Indian Epigraphy (1986) places inscriptions of Tamil Nadu at the top of the list. The categories of language, alphabet and number of inscriptions on both stone and copper plates also indicate Tamil Nadu as the first among Indian States. From this survey it can easily be understood that Tamil Nadu has the bulk of inscriptions found in India. It has been estimated with a fair degree of accuracy that the inscriptions written in Tamil occupy the first position in volume, amounting nearly to 20,000, followed by those in Kannada (10,600), Sanskrit (7,500) and Telugu (4,500). Inscriptions in Tamil language are noticed from the third century BCE onwards. (Source: Journal of the Epigraphical Society of India Volume 19 : 1993)



Tamilnadu Government started The State Department of Archaeology  in the year 1961 .The aim of the department is to showcase the rich heritage and glorious traditions of Tamil Nadu with its classical Tamil language, magnificent monuments, exquisite temples, art and sculpture and diversified traditions The Department has  14 site museums, the Government Oriental Manuscripts Library and Research Centre at Chepauk, Chennai besides the Institute of Epigraphy. A separate epigraphy wing was started during the year 1966. The primary function of this wing is to copy inscriptions on boulders, stone pillars, stones, temple walls and on copper plates. The inscriptions are deciphered, edited and published.  So far, about 14,000 inscriptions are copied and  preserved in this wing. Some original copper plates and old palm leaf manuscripts are also under the custody of this department.

The Department of Archaeology has been recognized as a Centre for doing research in history and archaeology leading to Ph.D by the University of Madras during the year 2003. 
At national level The  Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), under the Ministry of Culture regulates all archaeological activities in the country as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958. It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972.



Publications of the ASI was started by A. Cunningham, the first Director General, who along with his associates, documented vigorously all the results of their tour from1862-63 onwards. In 1874, a new series entitled ‘New Imperial Series’ was launched which continued up to 1933 containing exhaustive research on antiquarian remains.

John Marshall introduced Annual Reports published in two parts from 1902 onwards. He also started the publication of a new series ‘Memoirs of the Archaeological Survey of India’, of which the first number appeared in 1919 and the latest (ninety-eight) in 2003. ‘Ancient India’ the Bulletin of the Archaeological Survey of India was started in 1946, which contained general and research articles on different aspects of archaeology in India and adjacent countries.  The most important among them, ‘Epigraphia Indica’ for Sanskrit inscriptions was first published in 1892. So far 42 volumes have been published. In the field of Arabic and Persian inscription, ‘Epigraphia Indo-Moslemica’ is being brought out. The ‘Annual Report on Indian Epigraphy’ has been brought out from 1887 till 1995-96, which contains the reports on the epigraphical discoveries made each year. In addition to these, inscriptions of various dynasties were also published under the series ‘Corpus Inscriptionum Indicarum’. For the epigraphical records of South India, a separate series ‘South Indian Inscriptions’ is also being published since 1890. The south Indian inscriptions are also dealt with from 1905 to 1946 in another series called ‘Annual Report of South Indian Epigraphy’ which contains brief notes on inscriptions of south India collected during a particular year. The  Epigraphy Branch of the Survey caters to the needs of the Sanskrit & Dravidian inscriptions and coins (Headquarters at Mysore) and Arabic & Persian inscriptions and coins (Headquarters at Nagpur)

Underwater Archaeology Wing

India has 7,516 km long coastline, 1197 islands and 155,889 sq. km of territorial waters and 2,013,410 sq. km exclusive economic zone. The vast water area of the country is rich in underwater cultural heritage. The importance of underwater archaeology was realized as early as in the VI five-year plan. Beginning of underwater archaeology in India can be traced back to 1981. Off shore explorations in the country have generated a lot of popularity to this discipline. Establishment of the Underwater Archaeology Wing (UAW) in the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) in 2001 marked a major step towards the development of the subject. Since its inception the UAW is actively engaged in conducting underwater archaeological studies in the Arabian Sea and Bay of Bengal.

Protection of underwater cultural heritage and regulation of underwater activities aimed towards the cultural heritage is one of the main concerns of the UAW. Adoption of “Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage” by UNESCO in 2001 displays the global concern about the protection and management of underwater cultural heritage. UAW has initiated steps for the protection and preservation of the underwater cultural heritage.

So far what steps both Central and State Governments had taken to preserve our cultural heritage including conferences held in Paris reveal painstaking efforts but sad part is various universities and Tamil scholars show no interest in inscriptions. Temple authorities forget these are treasure troves of history. They focus on deities neglecting temple history.

Archaeological Survey of India in its Annual Report of Epigraphy 1895 had brought to notice 12 inscriptions, numbering 53 to 64 in the series. In Annual Report on Epigraphy 1930-1931, they have brought to notice 88 inscriptions numbering 121 to 208. The lethargy comes while publishing such inscriptions, whereas out of 100 inscriptions only 50 have been read deciphered and published. A place called Thiruchotruththurai in Mayiladuthurai-Kumbakonam road 4 kilometers near Thirukalliyur , in spite of copying 50  , in its Second Volume of Annual Report of Epigraphy only 50 inscriptions are published .50 copied but not published had been the target of study by Dr.Vijayavenugopal, epigraphist and multi disciplinary Tamil genius . So he revisited Thiruchotruthurai and deciphered these inscriptions which are going to see the light of the day.

Photo 1 : A sample page of Annual Report on Epigraphy

The above page of the ARE mentions some of 70 inscriptions found in 1903 and 1924 in Piranmalai of Trichy district, in a temple under Kunrakudi Atheenam. Piranmalai was known in earlier days as Thirukodunkunram. South Indian Inscriptions Volume 8  shows 70 stone inscriptions as noticed but less than 30 only deciphered and published. A team of epigraphists led by Dr.Vijayavenugopal and photographers Ravi and Babu associated with French Government organization Ecole Francaise de Extreme Orient visited 4 times in between 2009 and 2014 to Piranmalai to find new inscriptions, or precisely re-find inscriptions noticed in South Indian Inscriptions book. The poojari of Mangaipagar Koil refused to let them in in spite of the team saying published report mentions in 435 serial number about an inscription by Kulothunga Chozhan. During 4th visit, thanks to the new pujari, the team could read that Kulothunga Chozhan inscription.


Picture 1. Temple poojari in camphor light shows the wall behind the deity and says there is no inscription.
Photo 2 and 3 : The epigraphists argue that South Indian Inscriptions mentions 425 th inscription by Kulothunga Chozhan....



Photo 4 : 4th visit successful, and team finds that Kulothunga Chozhan inscription in the temple.



This one incident will reveal how much efforts are needed even to trace an inscription once found. The application of sandal paste in walls, santhanakkappu had hidden this Kulothunga Chozhan inscriptions.
The team led by Dr.Vijayavenugopal are currently in search of new inscriptions in Karnataka state, more particularly which were once Tamil territories. There ancient inscriptions are in Tamil, later day inscriptions being Tamil but written in Kannada script and recent period inscriptions are in Kannada. This shows waning influence of Tamil Kings over these adjoining Tamil territories, where Kannada officials gradually replaced Kannada with Tamil in inscriptions.
  

  


Photo 5 and 6 : In Someshwara Temple Karnataka Village Gudihalli of Kolar District. Dr.Vijayavenugopal and photographer Babu inspecting a monument

EFEO team visited Karnataka to verify the authenticity and to update the 300 or so inscriptions noticed by Archaeological Survey of India. In that process found few new inscriptions, which they have deciphered and going to publish.
All such new discoveries are getting published in a journal Avanam published for over 25 years or so by a private association Thamizhaga Tholliyal Kazhagam sponsored by Department of Epigraphy and Archaeology of Tamil University Thanjavur with financial support from Indian Council of Historic Research.
Photo 7 : Avanam journal recent 2013 issue, 24th issue.
  




 Along with the team out of curiosity to know how they are deciphering inscriptions, the author of this article visited Senthalai temple in Tiruvaiyaru region of Thanjavur District.

This temple during renovation the masons who undertook the work had thrown the order of inscriptions out of gear, and between one inscription and next continuity is missing, hence to re-read it and suggest proper chronological order of the inscriptions in grantha and devanagiri scripts, team of epigraphists must re-visit such temples.


 Dr.Vijayavenugopal inspecting Irumbai Mahaleswar Temple inscription in Vanur Taluk Villupuram District of Tamilnadu


It is a great blunder that Tamilnadu which housed around 70000 inscriptions in Ooty allowed its transfer to Mysore, where Tamil related inscriptions faced decay and destruction. Even the request by Tamil University to have Xerox copies of those inscriptions being turned down, was a thorny issue which recently had been resolved. ASI and Tamilnadu Archaeological department have joined hands to bring out a publication deciphering such monuments, which will throw new light on South Indian history much to the delight of Tamils...

BUDDHISM AND TAMIL LITERATURE :DR.VISAYA VENUGOPAL THE LIVING PERIYAR EVR







Saturday, September 22, 2018

HISTORICAL ATLAS OF SOUTH INDIA : NEW INDIAN EXPRESS ; 16.7.2005




HISTORICAL ATLAS OF SOUTH INDIA


 N.Nandhivarman

 A partnership in research yields good results. At present “ The Department of Epigraphy and Archaeology of the Tamil University Thanjavur and The Laboratory of Geomatics and Applied Informatics of the French Institute Pondicherry have joined together to develop and deploy a digital Atlas of South India on the internet accessible to everyone, presenting the political, social and cultural and all inclusive history of South India through a combination of maps, illustrations, texts and geographical information” said Dr.Y.Subburayalu, Coordinator of the unique project on South India.

  Tamil University Thanjavur for past decade had been collecting each and every bit of information, which forms the basic data. It joined hands with the Institut Franciase de Pondicherry under the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs for incorporating all these data into the Atlas from 2000 and in four years covered lot of ground. In the meanwhile Mahatma Gandhi University of Kottayam, Mangalore University and Hyderabad University have joined as new partners. Because already for decades lot of basic data had been collected and readily available in Tamil Nadu and Kerala, the first phase of the project covers the entire two states. But since Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka entered late into the fray they are currently working on two pilot projects only to gain momentum soon.

 Using the maps by Survey of India as base maps and improving upon them with maps provided by satellite pictures the Historical Atlas of South India is being prepared. The satellite imagery will be in the background and these maps will have 30 layers of information packed to suit the needs of every scholar’s choice.

  The Geomatics and Applied Informatics Laboratory of the French Institute Pondicherry that plays a pivotal role is a laboratory that specializes in the acquisition, management, modeling and analysis of spatial information on the Indian sub-continent with the aim to address scientific queries. “The contribution of the laboratory to the research projects is based on expertise in the development of Geographic Information Systems and analysis of satellite remote sensing data and favours a multi-disciplinary and integrative approach. Recently, the laboratory was responsible for launching a new area of activity pertaining to the development of web-browser based applications for the dissemination of scientific results through CD-ROMs and the web” according to informed sources.

 Looking at the other side of the world we find that United Nations realized the need for a marriage of technology and history when it accepted in 1974 a new map prepared for the world by Arno Peters, a German scholar. Peter’s map shows countries in their respective sizes and is based on Peter’s decimal grid, which divided the surface of the earth into hundred longitudinal fields of equal width and hundred latitudinal fields of equal height.

 Because much before this map was accepted the Atlases based on Mercator maps showed Greenland and Scandinavia to be bigger than India. Russia appeared bigger than entire continent of Africa. It seemed that Europe occupied more areas than South America. “These are not due to limitations of mathematics, but a deliberate attempt to show Colonial Europe as bigger than non-European world” opines Vishal Sharma. Hence to rectify this anomaly Peter’s projections came to be accepted by United Nations. The Historical Atlas of South India too is an attempt to update knowledge keeping room to add fresh every new information as and when found. Thus it is an attempt to keep perfection and precision.

 Dating back to 5 lakh years and covering the Stone Age up to 10,000 years ago the Atlas travels down and the New Stone Age between 3000 to 4000 years ago. It covers the metal age and pre-historical period of 1600 A.D and thus Atlas provides every information in a nutshell. Tamil University Thanjavur, which studied extensively, and intensively Pudukottai area have established the contributions of Jains to the iconography of Tamils. The well built tank irrigation system of Pudukottai region with inscriptions found in the sluices of the tanks yielded lot of information on irrigation and land administration. This information is fed into the Atlas.

The Atlas is arranged in a time line of eight broad periods. It covers four major themes such as Political, Social, Economical and Cultural. Textual information is provided in link files. One can access these at http://www.ifpindia.org
Apart from the Atlas prepared by one of its divisions, The French Institute [IFP} has an extremely rare collection of photographs dating back to 1956. This assorted collection consists of about 1,23,000 black and white photographs and 5500 color films and slides focusing on South Indian religious art and iconography including temple views, stone and bronze statues, paintings, architectural motifs, pre-historic cave rock paintings, palaces, jewelry etc.
 The Department of Indology at the IFP has the unique distinction of being a meeting place for the exchange of scientific thoughts and ideas between Western Indologists on the one hand and traditional Indian scholars on the other. 

The Department houses an impressive collection of 10000 bundles of manuscripts and photographs of manuscripts on Saivasiddhanta along with 1,30,000 photographs of temples and sculptures on religious art in South India “In its vast centralized air-conditioned library from where one can see the Bay of Bengal it is surprising that local Tamil magazines and English news papers etc are not be found” commented a social activist. Researching the past must reach the present society and today’s news is tomorrow’s history.


DIGITAL ATLAS OF TAMILNADU HISTORY : KUDOS TO FRENCH GOVERNMENT


Thursday, September 20, 2018

Great litterateur Gnanou Diagou





 Great litterateur Gnanou Diagou

Great men and great deeds may get lost in the sands of history. But a grateful society leaves monuments for successive generations to remember  them with gratitude.

Behind every monument there is a history. A statue at the Pondicherry Government Hospital reminds us of the donor who gifted the land for its construction. The  clock tower of grand Bazaar also rekindles memories of its donor, the grandfather of an illustrious, son of the soil, Le Bottennier Gnanou Diagou.

 The 127th birth anniversary of Le Boutonnière Gnanou Diagou, a man of letters and philanthropist falls on August 15. Not just the monuments but Gnanou Diagou’s contribution to Tamil Literature has been forgotten by the literary world and local population. His French translations of Kamba Ramayanam, Araneri Saaram, Assara Kovai, Nanmani Kadigai, Naladiar and the Thirukural are everlasting contributions that must be lauded by a grateful society. Sir CP Ramaswamy Iyer, in the foreword written to the French Translation of the Thirukural lauds thus, ‘‘Mr Gnanou Diagou’s rendering of Thiruvalluvar’s Kural into French is important and significant to international cultural collaboration.’

Gnanou Diagou, born on August 15, 1877, was an eminent lawyer and served as the president of Bar association. For nearly three decades he taught students of the Ecole de Droit Pondicherry as Professor of Law and wrote several Books on Hindu and Mohammedan law. He was also a popular political leader of Pondicherry from 1908 to 1925. He founded The Historical Society and left his imprint as its Vice President from 1911 till his son Cojande Dairianathan succeeded him in 1948.

 The conferment of honours initiated by Napolean Bonaparte in 1802 has the following titles of honour similar to our padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Padmasri. Grand Officier da la Legion d’ honneur is the first in rank. The second one is Chevalier de la legion d’ honneur. This was conferred on meritorious people for social service and the French government in recognition of his services had honoured him by conferring the second medal of honour, The Legion of Honour, on January 15, 1920. He also won awards like Officier d’ Academie and Chevalier du merite agricole. A member of the Counseil General, the the French version of the Legislative assembly with limited powers, he served the public. 

Gnanou Diagou was the descendent of one of the oldest and distinguished ‘‘Dubash’’ families of Pondicherry. Lazario De Motha Tanappa Modeliar, the illustrious ancestor of Gnanou Diagou had collaborated with Francois Martin in 1673 in the very foundation of the French settlement in Pondicherry. His successors Moutiappa Modeliar and his son Pedro canagaraya Modeliar were no less distinguished. Pedro Canagaraya  Modeliar was the recipient of the gold medal from Louis XV, King of France, for his good offices in securing Karaikal from the Maharaja of Tanjore in 1739. There is a street named after him that in current days called Canteen Street, though in name it exists in street boards. His son Diagou Modeliar, the grandfather of Gnanou Diagou, erected the clock tower in the Grand Bazaar apart from many choultries to feed the poor. The Street parallel to Nehru Street is named after Diagou Modeliar.

 Hailing from such an illustrious family, Gnanou Diagou scaled greater heights in public esteem through his literary works . He wanted to preserve the history of Pondicherry and was instrumental in having the manuscript of Ananda Ranga Pillai’s diaries copied from the original for publication purposes. He analyzed the decisions of the Superior Council from 1735 to 1820, the work of almost a century, and published them in eight volumes. He has written an authoritative book on General de lally, the  unlucky successor of Dupleix in whose period the entire white town including the Palace of Dupleix was destroyed.

 History is not a mere record of the events of the past. It has a meaning to be learnt. The acts of philanthropy are lauded to inculcate in the present generation such noble qualities. The intercultural exchange by taking the essence of Tamil classical literature to French, as done by Gnanou Diagou, is an incomplete mission for every generation of writers.



Courtesy: The New Indian Express-week end-14.08.2004



Wednesday, September 19, 2018

UNEARTHING SCIENCE -MEDICINE-YOGA and PHILOSOPHY IN TAMIL SIDDHAR LITERATURE





5 year UGC PROJECT : First year after exhausting 7 months we were asked to do research and only 5 months we were given, I submitted the above reports and others too ....... In life never under Tamil Department I will undertake any research .....

அடுத்த 11 வது உலகத் தமிழ்மாநாட்டிலாவது சுவாமி விபுலானந்தரின் எழுத்துக்களையும் பேச்சையும் ஆய்வு செய்ய....

தமிழ் ஆய்வுலகமும் தமிழ்ப் பல்கலைக்கழங்களும் அடுத்த 11 வது  உலகத் தமிழ்மாநாட்டிலாவது சுவாமி விபுலானந்தரின் எழுத்துக்களையும் பேச்சையும் ஆ...